Anderson Power Products
Anderson SB50 Connector wiring diagram
Two-pole SB50 DC connector family. The 50 A planning value is conditional on the actual housing, contacts, cable and termination; the family name alone does not specify an assembly rating.
Wiring diagram
How the SB50 is wired.
Open this example in Crimp to use your own parts and cable lengths. Review the assumptions and installation notes as you adapt the circuit.
Cable sizing for this example
Use the diagram as a starting point for your installation. Replace the example equipment and cable lengths with your own, and check the connections against your exact model's instructions.
Cable sizes depend on the connected equipment, current and cable lengths. Add those details in Crimp to size each run.
Installation notes
Before you install.
Open a question for model-specific guidance and sources.
Reviewed against manufacturer family documentation (rev. SB50 family datasheet; assembly sheet 1S1030A rev 19), checked 2026-10-01. Exact variant details still require confirmation. Manufacturer documentation →
Which connector assembly is verified?
This entry represents the two-pole SB50 family, not a complete ordered housing/contact/cable combination. The manufacturer datasheet and assembly sheet were downloaded, but the catalog does not identify contact part numbers or cable size. Verification therefore remains at family level. The 50 A planning value is not approval for every assembly sold under this name.
The current datasheet includes ratings above the family name for specified combinations and separate hot-plug ratings. Those figures depend on contacts, conductors and test conditions. Do not raise the modeled limit without matching the actual parts and installation.
How are its poles and mating halves arranged?
The symbol shows both sides of a mated connector: positive connects through to positive, and negative through to negative. It is not a busbar joining all four terminals. Check housing polarity markings and continuity before connecting a battery. Grey and black SB50 housings share keying and can mate; other keyed colours require the matching housing.
This is a DC equipment/battery connector, not an AC shore-power inlet. An SB50 and SB175 are different sizes and do not mate with each other merely because both are called Anderson connectors.
How are the contacts assembled?
Assembly sheet 1S1030A rev 19 specifies stranded copper conductors and the approved contact/tool combination. For the SB50, its strip-length table gives 14 mm. Choose the barrel and any approved reducer to match the actual conductor; do not trim strands to make a cable fit.
Insert the terminated contact with its notched tongue aligned to the retaining spring, push until it latches, and perform the specified light tug check. Provide cable support and follow the tooling table for the chosen contact rather than using the family name to select a die.
What protection and checks are still needed?
The connector contains no fuse. Protect its source conductors and check the current carried by the complete assembly. De-energize before assembly or contact removal; a hot-plug rating is conditional, not a reason to disconnect arbitrary loads under power. Inspect seating, polarity and contact heating under a controlled initial load, and stop to correct a loose or discoloured connection.
Technical reference
Specifications and terminal map.
Check the model, ratings and connection points against your own unit before choosing installation hardware.
Catalog specification
Two-pole SB50 DC connector family. The 50 A planning value is conditional on the actual housing, contacts, cable and termination; the family name alone does not specify an assembly rating.
Connection limits are listed in the terminal map. Use the manufacturer's documentation for the full specifications.
Terminal map
Catalog connection points, current direction and planning limits. Check the manufacturer's pinout and connector ratings before installation.
+
positive · bidi
−
negative · bidi
+
positive · bidi
−
negative · bidi
Sources and sizing method
Equipment specifications. Model details, ratings and terminal roles come from the catalog. Check your unit’s label and current manufacturer documentation for its exact revision.
Example sizing. Wire sizes and fuse ratings apply to the connected example, not a fixed cable size for this component. Set your actual equipment, current, lengths and installation conditions in Crimp before choosing hardware.
Read how the sizing worksNext step
Plan your installation with SB50.
Open this example as a new project, or add this component to your existing diagram. Use your equipment and cable lengths to review the sizing.
Start drawing, sizing and checking without an account. Your drawing saves in this browser. See Pricing for the equipment allowance and the one-time export offer available to you.